About the Department

The Department of Molecular Biology & Biotechnology (MBBT) of Cotton University had its genesis as the Department of Biotechnology in the erstwhile Cotton College in 2008, offering an undergraduate, BSc in Biotechnology (Hons) programme. Subsequently, the postgraduate programme of M.Sc in Molecular Biology & Biotechnology (MBBT) was initiated in 2015. With Cotton University Act 2017, coming into force, the departments of Biotechnology and MBBT were unified as the Department of Molecular Biology & Biotechnology (MBBT) on January 1, 2018. The department currently has six permanent faculty, one scientific assistant and a few contractual staff. Currently, the department offers undergraduate, post-graduate and PhD programmes. The areas of research currently in progress in the department include nanobioengineering, environmental engineering, bioenergy, plant-pathogen-environment interactions, molecular virology, reproductive immunology, molecular genetics in hepatology, plant molecular biology, functional genomics, biodiversity, microbial biotechnology, medicinal plants and their bioactivity, environmental biotechnology, environmental microbiology and biopolymers. These research activities are currently being funded by MoE STARS, DBT-BUILDER and other schemes under DBT, Govt. of India.